Read, Write, Revise: 3 subject cycle

Hey there! Today I want to share a study strategy I use myself. Feel free to experiment and let me know if you improve on it.

I start by selecting 3 subjects, one descriptive(History), one numerical(Maths) and one conceptual(Science).

Step 1: I start by reading a section of history for 20 minutes. Then 5 minutes break. Then solving math problems(at least 10 problems or half an hour) followed by another 5 minute break. Then I try to understand one concept in science.

Step 2: For this cycle, write a summary of what you studied in previous step in history, 5 min break; do 10 sums in math, 5 min break; review the concept in science.

Step 3: Read another section in history(20 min), 5 min break; 10 problems in math, 5 min break; prepare flash cards of the concept you just learned in science.

Every step is about 20*3+5*3=75 minutes.

Now let’s say I’ve got 3 days left before my history paper. I modify my cycle as:

Step 1: I start by reading the summary of a section of history for 30 minutes. Then 5 minutes break. Then solving math problems(at least 5 problems or 15 minutes) followed by another 5 minute break.

Step 2: Review the summary you wrote in previous step(history), 5 min break; Revise 1-3 flash cards from previous day in science or, prepare one flash card followed by 5 min break;quickly go through  section 2 in history.

Step 3: Read  section 2 in history(30 min), 5 min break;  5 problems in math, 5 min break.

Repeat steps 1-3.

The key idea is to mix reading, writing, reviewing and recalling alternatively. If you read one section for 30 minutes, revise another for 10 minutes followed by writing the first section.

Let me know if this strategy worked for you!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Mix n Match: 2-3 subjects in a day | One student tip a day

Leave a Reply

